It’s Author Fair Weekend!

Good morning, everyone! I’m just back from the amazing Indiana Women’s Conference 2017 and have to say, what a fantastic event! So motivation and energizing. If you have the chance to attend one in the future, do it!

One of the topics in a session I attended yesterday was that of mentoring and helping to build tomorrow’s leaders today. Those of you who know and work with me understand that I love talking about leadership and finding ways to encourage and motivate others. That’s all well and good at my day job, but how to do that with writing?

Until recently, I lead a local writers group that met once a month. And I loved it, truly I did. But working and writing and soccer mom-ing and writer group leading got to be too much. So the writers group torch was reluctantly passed on and now my writing chats are generally via emails or over coffee (or at the kitchen table, as I’m helping my sons proofread their essays lol).

I still love to talk writing, though, and watch for opportunities to do exactly that.  So you can imagine how excited I was to discover that I was selected to participate in a panel discussion this weekend at the Allen County Public Library’s 7th Annual Author Fair called “Writing Down the Genres”  from 3:30-4:30pm. There will be four of us on the panel, each speaking on the genre we represent: romance (me), Christian, non-fiction/history, and memoirs. I can’t wait to share my experiences with the audience in the hopes of inspiring other writers to pursue their own dreams.

The library has been growing this event over the past number of years, and in fact has several FREE panels and even a writing workshop planned for this Saturday. So if you’ve ever thought about writing a book, want to know what goes into writing a book, or if you’ve written a book but don’t know where to go from there, get over to the downtown library this weekend. The event runs from noon to five o’clock and again, ADMISSION IS FREE! You can find out more details here: http://www.acpl.lib.in.us/home/whatshappening/whatshappeningblog

And what author fair would be complete without some books for sale? Join us, as there will be over 70 authors from the region lined up in the library’s main hall selling books and trinkets for readers of all ages. I can’t stress enough how much we appreciate your support, or just how far it goes to help grow and encourage the arts in our great community.

I hope to see some familiar faces there this weekend!

 

 

P.S. For more information about the downtown library, parking, and other amenities, check out its website at: http://www.acpl.lib.in.us/home/explore/locations/main

2 thoughts on “It’s Author Fair Weekend!

Leave a Reply

