The Dragons are Coming…

Happy Wednesday, everyone! And ooooh, do I have some exciting news to share with you all today! I have kept relatively quiet online about a new series that sunk its claws into me several months back, but if you follow me on Twitter you might have seen a tweet or two with this hashtag:

#dragons

Yes, I officially went off the writerly deep end last December (temporary moment of insanity after skipping out on NaNoWriMo, perhaps?) and set my WIP aside to write a fantasy romance that would NOT leave me alone. Some polishing, some demands from my betas to know “Will you hurry the #@$! up and write book 2 already?!”, and some awesome edits by my literary agent and her staff later, and my dragons landed a wonderful new home with the amazing Samhain Publishing. The three books in this series are slated to release in April, August and November 2016.

Yeah, I know. I’m a romance author. A CONTEMPORARY romance author. So what the heck am I writing about dragons for? And to that I’ve got a simple answer:

Why not?

11133324_742645642518317_5805529506690886620_n

No, it’s not what I ever pictured myself writing. Then again, 5 years ago I wouldn’t have pictured myself as a published author, either. So go with me on this, okay? If you’ve read my writing, you’ll recognize my “voice”. There’s humor, there’s emotion, there’s sarcasm (well, duh). Oh, and did I mention there’s a sexy-as-hell prince who may or may not transform into one bad-ass golden dragon? Think:  Game of Thrones meets Thor. And as dragons tend to run hot, the spice-meter might have been kicked up a few notches for this series…

So buckle your safety belts, ladies and gentlemen — the dragons lift off April, 2016.

And no worries: if sweet contemporary romance is more your style, the Checkerberry Inn books 2 and 3 are also in the works for 2016 and 2017. But I’m telling you…you’re gonna love my dragons, too.

And now, drum roll please…..presenting…..

DRAGONS AMONG THEM, book 1 in the Kingdoms of Fire & Ice series, coming April, 2016.

DragonsAmongThem72lg

Two worlds. One unstoppable passion. A fiery secret that could destroy them all.

Prince Zayne Godfrey, heir to Edana’s throne, is betrothed to the lone princess of rival kingdom Forath. While his heart is not in the arranged marriage, he will do his royal duty.

When he finds a beautiful stranger cornered by a pack of wolves, he doesn’t hesitate to shift into his golden dragon form to save her. She thanks him by taking one look at him and fainting dead away.

Photographer Adelaide Miller is in England for a career-making shoot when a bizarre jogging mishap lands her in a dangerous, medieval-like world of royals, wizards and dragon-shifting men. Her first instinct is to find her way back, but the fire-breathing prince intent on protecting her threatens to melt her heart.

Zayne’s burning passion for Adelaide not only jeopardizes the fragile peace between two kingdoms, it uncovers a ruthless plot to destroy his family. Remaining together may change Adelaide’s very definition of home—and expose one searing secret that could forever shift the balance of power in Zayne’s world.

Add to your Goodreads shelf today: http://bitly.com/Dat1GR

So…what do you think? Isn’t this cover absolutely amazing?!?! 

6 thoughts on “The Dragons are Coming…

    • I know, Julie. Here’s hoping the time will pass quickly! The good news is, all three books in the series should be released next year, so once you dive in, you won’t have long to wait to continue the story onward and upward. 😉

  1. Congrats, Kyra. I’m so excited for you! And as someone who crosses genres myself, I think it’s great to go where the muse directs you. As you said, writers are storytellers. We shouldn’t be pigeonholed to a certain genre. Dragons looks fabulous!!

Leave a Reply

