Shut Up and Let Passion Drive

Happy New Year, everyone!

With the passing of one year and the start of another, the big buzz on everyone’s lips/tweets/posts is RESOLUTIONS–who’s making them, who’s staunchly refusing to participate, who’s laughing at them. Personally, I’ve never been a big resolution person. At least, not a die-hard “write myself 7,000 sticky notes and post them everywhere I might look to remind me of the promise I made to myself” kind of resolution person.

Original image courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons, courtesy of The Inadvertent Gardener.

Original image courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons, courtesy of The Inadvertent Gardener.

I do, however, enjoy the occasional re-evaluation of goals and priorities, and that doesn’t only happen on December 31st. I had one such re-eval session for my writing life a few months back, and jotted down a loose schedule for the rest of 2014: work in progress draft completion date goal, editing goal, which book to work on next, etc. Yep, still have that note (okay, so maybe I am partial to sticky notes) hanging from my writing desk. But after a month or so I found I wasn’t making very good progress. Another month passed by with little improvement. The more I stared at those goals, the more stifling they felt. Worry began to settle in.

I was behind. I was letting myself down.

Wait, what? Goals are supposed to encourage, to propel us forward, not weigh us down!

And then I had this dream (go ahead, roll your eyes, but I swear it’s true) right before Thanksgiving about this girl in a strange land being saved by…wait for it…a giant golden dragon.

Giant. Golden. Dragon.

Right. I thought I’d finally cracked. Gone cuckoo. Jumped off the deep end. But the story wouldn’t leave me alone. It nagged at my subconscious, clawed at me day and night. So I sat down and typed up some thoughts on the story. Chewed on them for a day and then typed a little more. The next day when the blasted storyline crept into my head, I plunked down in front of my computer and decided to start writing the damn thing since it obviously wasn’t going to leave me alone until I proved that it wouldn’t work.

But to my amazement…it did. In fact it worked so well that I cranked out a 211 page first draft in just over a month. 211 pages of a paranormal romance I am absolutely in love with.

How was that possible? It wasn’t on my list of things to do, not on my schedule. And yet here it is, the first draft done, and it’s my best work yet. What happened?

to_do_list_flickr

Original image courtesy of Flickr Creatinve Commons, courtesy of Rob Warde.

 

Simple–passion drove the writing of this story. Not deadlines, not plans, not resolutions, but rather a passion for the story, for the characters, for the plot. I wrote this story for me, knowing if I loved it then so would many of you. Words can not describe how freeing it’s been to write with such reckless abandon, to put my concerns about “should be’s” and “could be’s” aside and let the story write itself.

Passion.

The torch has been lit, one I hope to carry with me throughout the year. Does that mean I won’t stall down the road with another book, or stumble with a future (or past) storyline that’s fighting me every step of the way? Nope. But just like in golf, all it takes is one great tee shot a round to make me hungry for another. This new book is doing the same for my writing. I’m all in, I’m giddy with the feeling of accomplishment, and I’m dying to get this manuscript polished so I can share it with each and every one of you.

Original image courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons, courtesy of Ian Hex.

Original image courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons, courtesy of Ian Hex.

Passion–it’s what is driving my writing life in 2015. What’s driving you?

 

8 thoughts on “Shut Up and Let Passion Drive

  1. I hear you, sister. Listen to the Giant Golden Dragons in your head. When you do, prose flows, words are electric and fingers on keyboards are worn to nubs. If you don’t act on the Dragons, stalemate, no words, nothing brilliant. Glad you listened. Will look for announcement when the book comes out.

  2. Isn’t it funny how that happens? I’ve been working on a Christmas story that intersects my stand alone and my series. I wanted to work on the next book in my series but this story just won’t leave me alone. When Inspiration strikes you have to go for it!

    Can’t wait to read it – here’s to a fabulous 2015! May we all find what works for each of us.

  3. Fire up the torch and keep it burning with a steady glow!!! What an inspiring post about a moment of tingling inspiration! Thanks for sharing.

    Love to hear more about this Dragon story… looking forward to it!

    Cheeries Gabz

  4. Whoo-hoo! Loved this. You’ve so accurately described the writing buzz. It doesn’t happen often, but when an idea like this comes along, and our fingers fly over the keys, it’s a fabulous high, flying on a golden dragon.

    • Thanks, Mary Lou! If only every story sunk their claws into me like this one has. Kinda makes me wonder if more of them have tried, but I was too busy trying to mold them into what I thought they needed to be. Perhaps this was a wake up call for me to get out of my own way 😉

Leave a Reply

