Mae Clair is here with Eclipse Lake

This week on Tuesday Traditions I’m offering 2 for the price of 1…and neither will appear on Tuesday. 😉 Today we’ve got another terrific, uber-supportive Lyrical sister of mine, who is as selfless as she is talented: Mae Clair. Mae loves to weave mystery and suspense into her romances, and she’s here to share about one of her recent releases with us.

Please join me in welcoming the ever-talented Mae Clair!Eclipse Lake_smaller

  1. Name (or pen name): Mae Clair
  1. State (or country) you call home: Pennsylvania
  1. Genre(s) you write: Romantic mysteries and suspense
  1. Most recent release title: Eclipse Lake (Indie Publication, June 22, 2014)
    1. Storyline:

Dane Carlisle returns to his hometown fifteen years after leaving his criminal past behind, hoping to make amends with his estranged brother.

He didn’t count on falling in love with free-spirited nature photographer Ellie Sullivan, or for the discovery of skeletal remains to put him dead center in an unsolved missing person’s case.

  1. Of your most recent storyline, pick one character that made you laugh. Tell us who they are and give us an example of why they tickled your funny bone :

That’s an easy one. In ECLIPSE LAKE, my hero, Dane (who is a widower) has a teenaged son named Jesse. Jesse is not afraid to speak his mind, often with questionable results. I especially loved writing him with his Uncle Jonah, (Dane’s brother) as the two were oil and water for most of the book. There is a particular scene where Jonah bets Jesse he can make a better shot with a bow than Jesse can. Jesse accepts…neglecting to tell his uncle he’s a junior archery champion. That was definitely a fun scene to write!

  1. If you could have any pet in the world, what would it be?:

A cat!!!  No question about it, I love cats. I’m presently without a feline companion, but I plan to rectify that at some point in the future after my husband and I have done some traveling.

  1.  A trip across town. Walk, run, or ride?:

Well, it would depend on how big the town is, LOL! In a nice small quaint community, I’d go with walk. Anything larger, and I’ll hop in the car.

  1.  Name a blog you visit often that offers great tips for writers:

I regularly visit a lot of blogs, but most of them share author updates, along with books and new releases. Occasionally, I’ll visit Kristen Lamb’s blog or an indie author tips blog, but—although it’s probably sacrilege to say this—I don’t read many writing advice blogs. A little is good. Too much can go a long way.

  1. Give us one of your favorite motivational/inspirational quotes :

I’m going to share the same one I did the last time I visited your blog because I still think of it often. It’s from Stephen King:

“Talent is cheaper than table salt. What separates the talented individual from the successful one is a lot of hard work.”

Thanks so much for having me as your guest today, Kyra!

Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing again with us, Mae! I absolutely love the cover, and this sounds like a terrific book–can’t wait to read it!

Please be sure to say “hello” to Mae while you’re here!

Mae Clair

 

Mae Clair links

Website & Blog | Facebook Fan Page | Twitter | Goodreads | Google+

Eclipse Lake from:

Amazon

And don’t forget to add Eclipse Lake  to your Goodreads List

 

18 thoughts on “Mae Clair is here with Eclipse Lake

  1. Hi, Liz. Thanks so much for adding ECLIPSE LAKE to your TBR. I’m thrilled to hear that, and hope you enjoy the story. I love writing family relationships and strong character interactions. I was able to do a lot of that between Dane, Jonah and Jesse. I really enjoyed writing this one and am delighted to share it!

  2. Jesse sure is a sneaky Pete about the archery, isn’t he? Cute. With the Stephen King quote what immediately sprang to mind is I sure need to change to writing historical romances, when table salt was worth its weight in gold. So, it’s either that or apply the butt glue, eh? Great post. http://flossiebentonrogers.com

    • Hey, Flossie, many thanks for dropping by. Yeah, Jesse was a heck of a lot of fun to write. He went from starting out as an anticipated minor character to a one of my POV leads. And King has a way of phrasing things, doesn’t he? I need some of that butt glue too, LOL!

  3. Lovely interview, Mae. I understand the cat thing and the small town walk. I can walk through the village even make it as far as the river but anything more I need the car. Love that boy, Jesse. Sometimes adults shouldn’t have everything their own way. 🙂

    • Cats, and quaint small town. I love them!! Your walk to through the village to the river sounds idyllic, Daisy. Thanks for dropping by and commenting. I have to admit I’m kind of partial to Jesse too 😉

Leave a Reply

