Release Day Excitement and Gratitude

Well everyone, today’s the day! It’s release day for FLIRTING WITH FIRE, my second published novel and book 2 in my Hometown Heroes Collection. And I have to say, it feels good. Darned good.

Oh, heck, who am I kidding? It feels FREAKING AMAZING!

With both releases, I greeted the day with a bit of apprehension. Would my “baby” be welcomed into the literary world with open arms? Would readers take a chance on me? Connect with my characters? Dissect my plot and leave it for dead?

But the flip side of that apprehension is an even greater sense of accomplishment. The books are done, they’re live, and (thank the good Lord) they’re getting great reviews. So what could make release day any better (besides selling a million and one copies)?

This:

20140707_194111

Yep, that’s me, holding my very first print copy of FLIRTING WITH FIRE. So excited I had to rip the package open right there on the driveway, couldn’t even wait to get inside. My amazing hubby was right beside me, snapping pics to capture the Kodak moment, God bless him.

That was hours ago, and I still can’t get over it.

My book. In print. In. My. HANDS!

It’s taken four years of blood, sweat, and tears (okay, more like coffee, chocolate, and more coffee) but my first print book is here and all mine. And honestly? I wouldn’t have traded my journey for the world. How could I, when I’ve discovered so many wonderful friends—both writers and readers across the globe—along the way? Your constant support, endless encouragement, and shared release-day excitement is invaluable and sincerely, sincerely appreciated.

So to both my biological and literary family and friends, from the bottom of my heart thank you all for helping shape Kyra Jacobs into who she is today.

Now…pass me some cake and let’s get this party started!

You can find FLIRTING WITH FIRE on Amazon Kindle, along with ARMED WITH STEELE, book 1 of the Hometown Heroes Collection. FLIRTING WITH FIRE will soon be out in print from Amazon and CreateSpace–trust me, I’ll keep you posted on that release date as well.

 * * *

FwF Cover400x600

Look, touch, but don’t fall in love.

Massage therapist Liz Williams lives by one rule: never date a client. A rule she’s never had trouble following until she lays hands on fireman playboy Torrunn MacKay. Trouble is, Liz’s sexy new client is dating her arch-rival at work…and has a strange habit of appearing just before the fire alarm sounds.

Firefighter Torrunn MacKay has got it made: killer job, downtown condo with a view, and hot blonde girlfriend with no more desire to tie the knot than he has. But the surprise attraction he feels toward his new masseuse is threatening to change all that. And what’s with the string of fires that seem to follow her everywhere?

Can Liz mind her table manners and keep Torrunn at arms’ length? Will Torrunn put his commitment fears aside to keep Liz safe? More than hearts will be in jeopardy when the two start Flirting with Fire.

CONTENT WARNING: Beware of darkened rooms, delicious firefighters, and desperate pyromaniacs.

 

HIGHLIGHT

I watched his face while I worked, savoring the sight of his perfect nose, long, dark lashes, and full, pink lips. Seriously, the guy had missed his calling. He’d give Ryan Reynolds a run for his money at the movies any day of the week.

“So why’d you become a fireman, anyway?”

His eyes opened, and he stared unfocused at the ceiling. “When I was a kid, one of our neighbors’ houses caught fire. I remember watching from my bedroom window as the fire truck arrived and the battle began. They saved the house, and everyone inside.”

“That must have been a scary sight for such a little boy.”

“It was.” He fell silent for a moment. “So, how about you?”

“Why did I become a fireman? Because of my stocky build and ability to blow out fires with a single huff and puff, what did you think?”

“Nice,” he said with a grin. “No, I mean why did you become a massage therapist?”

“Well, like you, the idea formed in my mind when I was young. I had an aunt with chronic back pain. She was always so much fun to be around, but when the pain would set in, she’d be nearly incapacitated. Then one day she went to a therapist, and came back home looking good as new and telling everyone what a miracle it was.

“I’d always known I wanted to do something to help people. But the whole nurse or doctor thing just never interested me. With reflexology, I can interact with my clients and help ease their daily aches and pains. And by doing that, I always leave work feeling better myself.”

“Liz the giver.”

I laughed. “Um, yeah, something like that. It’s too bad I’m not better around blood and gore, or maybe I’d really be able to help people”

“Oh,” he said. “I bet you help them more than you know.”

10 thoughts on “Release Day Excitement and Gratitude

  1. Congratulations and happy release day, Krya! How exciting to have your first print book (loved the story of you ripping the envelope open). FLIRTING WITH FIRE sounds awesome. I’m off to get my Kindle copy now!

  2. Congrats, Kyra! I’ve been super behind, but I made a spur of the moment decision to feature you on my blog this Friday to help promote Flirting with Fire! YAY! Good luck with it!

Leave a Reply

