It’s Kristan Higgins!

Ok everyone, I’m sure you’re getting rather sick to death of me posting updates on blog tours for my debut novel, so I have great news: we’ve got a guest author on Indiana Wonderer today. And not just any author–it’s RWA’s 2013 keynote speaker, the lovely and extremely talented Kristan Higgins!

If you haven’t yet discovered Kristan, get out from that rock you’ve been living under and make a beeline to your nearest bookstore or e-book app. Her writing is humorous yet rich, relatable yet unique. Seriously, the first book I read of hers had me laughing in some parts and crying in others…and I re-read the last page over and over, refusing to put it down and let the characters move on without me.

Before I ramble on and embarrass myself any further, please join me in welcoming Kristan Higgins.

  1. Name (or pen name): Kristan Higgins. Only name I’ve ever had.TPMfc
  1. State (or country) you call home: Connecticut, land of the polite.
  1. Number of books published: 10, 11 coming out October 29
  1. Genre(s) you write: Contemporary romance
  1. Most recent release titleTHE PERFECT MATCH (HQN Books, 10/29/13)
    1. Storyline:

Honor Holland, workaholic extraordinaire, wants a family. When her proposal to her longtime love interest flops, she caves to her grandma’s urging to meet Tom Barlow. He needs a wife, he’s not too bad, and hey, Honor’s not getting any younger. Why not?

  1. Most recent work in progress title: UNTITLED
    1. Storyline:

Emmaline Neal’s ex-husband, that guy on the cover of People Magazine who lost 150 pounds, is marrying his personal trainer, and Em is invited to the wedding. Is she going alone? Hell to the no! (And that’s all I have on that one so far.)

  1. Of your most recent storyline, pick one character to which you can best relate. Tell us who they are, and what they’ve done to be named here:

I really loved Honor in THE PERFECT MATCH because I think she’s a very familiar person—the woman who feels she has to let go of her idealistic views on romance and settle for “not bad.” For years, she’s been in love with Brogan Cain, her friend with bennies, and has always hoped for more. Alas, Brogan’s not interested. It’s crushing. Honor’s got a big heart, but she’s not the sweet, goofy type (like her sister, Faith). She’s the type to make the best of things, keep her head down and do her job…and she wants a family. When she falls for the guy in this sort of arranged marriage, it really takes her by surprise; but once again, it feels like she’s in love with a guy who doesn’t feel the same way.

  1. Who’s won more times at Facebook Man Wars—you or Jill Shalvis?

I’m not aware of Jill ever winning, to be honest. (Don’t tell her I said that. She’ll hit me.)

  1. What does your typical writing day look like?

I walk over to my office, which is an attic apartment over my neighbor’s garage. Make some coffee, give the dog her cookie and settle in. It’s a very happy, bright little space with a big goofy chair and lots of plants. I write 4-6 hours a day…It depends on my little bunnies (who are teenagers now). I go home in the afternoon (after school during the academic year, later in the summer) and do stuff like answer emails and blog.

  1. Best piece of advice you were given as a fledgling author:

Read. Read the best authors in your genre, and take note of those moments that just slam you in the heart. I don’t think there is a better teacher than reading.

  1. Give us one of your favorite motivational/inspirational quotes:

“Inspiration is a guest that does not willingly visit the lazy.” (Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky). I think a lot of writers expect a muse to drift down from heaven, holding a cappuccino, and give them their books. While that would be wicked awesome, it’s never happened to me. My greatest moments of grace happen during hours of very unglamorous, inelegant work.

Thank you, Kristan, for graciously taking time out of your busy schedule to join us today on Indiana Wonderer. We wish you all the best with your current and upcoming releases!

2012KHsmall2

If you’d like to learn more about Kristan Higgins, you can find her at her website, on Facebook (where you, too, can enjoy Man Wars), and on Twitter. And if you’d like to hear her witty, inspirational message from RWA, click here.

25 thoughts on “It’s Kristan Higgins!

  1. Hi, Kristan. Nice to meet. I’m jealous of all that writing time you get each day (that would be heaven!) but I can see how productive it’s made you. Congrats on all those releases. The Perfect Match sounds like a delightful read and I love the breezy romantic cover!

  2. Just finished 2 of your books, basically read all in the middle, except your first and your last book (TBR Oct 29th), so it’s like eating sandwiches (not intentionally meant to read that way). 😀 Did I mention I love your books, ALL your books? And like that Tchaikovsky quote also. 😉

  3. Hi. I can’t wait to read the next book, Kristan. And only 3 days after my debut novel comes out on the 26th! Hope I can experience some of your success. Good luck with the Perfect Match.

  4. Hi Kristan!! Hope this interview brings you lots of new readers! You’re one of my favorite authors. Your books are funny, sad, sweet, sassy, smart, romantic & uplifting. I can’t wait till the new book comes out. As a reader, I sure wish you’d write faster!!! 😉 Thanks!

  5. I can’t wait for you new book. I’ve enjoyed all of your stories. I like how you weave humor into your stories. I’ve even laughed out loud more than once.

  6. I love this: “Her writing is humorous yet rich, relatable yet unique. Seriously, the first book I read of hers had me laughing in some parts and crying in others…and I re-read the last page over and over, refusing to put it down and let the characters move on without me.”

    It was the same for me — I feel the very same way. After I read my first KH book I was hooked – who knew the free, signed by the author herself, I received at my very first RWA conference would lead me to discover one of the very best authors of contemporary romance today!

    Her books are the ones I go to when a friend is looking for something to read — Although I am getting a little perturbed that my books don’t always make it back to me is the same condition they left in. Sharing can be hard– don’t care what I learned in Kindergarten. 🙂

    Great blog piece! I am so excited for The Perfect Match.

Leave a Reply

