Summer Lovin’ Blog Hop

Romantic couple hugging eachother at sunsetWhat an exciting day it is here at Indiana Wonder–it’s Armed With Steele’s official release day!! And what better way to celebrate than by kicking off a blog hop? That’s right, today marks the beginning of Love Lust and Lipstick Stains’ Summer Lovin’ Blog Hop. If you are joining us today as part of the hop, welcome! It’s an honor to be part of such an amazing event. If not, here’s a little tidbit about the hop (and if you love free books, I’d definitely suggest checking it out!):

Over fifty authors and bloggers have joined together to give you the
chance to win an awesome bundle of books as well as read some great posts.
Be sure to go to each blog  and comment with your email to up your chances
of winning. Each comment counts as an entry! Our lovely bloggers are also
offering individual prizes so be sure to check them out.

That’s right: I’ll be giving away a free copy of Armed With Steele to one lucky commenter visiting for the LL&LS blog hop between August 5th and 8th. As a show of my appreciation for you stopping by today, I’m sharing a peek into one of my favorite scenes below. The main characters, Jessica and Nate, have just returned from a night out bowling–one of my favorite summer (and winter) pastimes.

Excerpt from Armed With Steele:armedwithsteel_small

“You gonna catch the light?”

“Don’t need the light. I know exactly where what I want is.”

I heard him toss his keys onto the kitchen table. Next thing I knew, Nate had his arms
around my waist. He spun me around, pulled me close, and leaned in for a kiss.

“Stop right there, Officer Steele.” I put my hand on his chest to halt his progress. “We
had a deal, remember?”

Even in the dark I could see his responding smirk. He peeled my hand from his chest as
easily as if he were turning the page in a magazine. Lifted it to his mouth. “Of course I do,” he
said, his lips starting to travel up my arm. “Loser buys shots. I held up my end of the bargain.”

“No, no, no. That was only part of the deal. The rest was–”

“That if you won, you’d get to sleep in your own bed. Alone.” He reached down and
collected my other hand in his.

I cleared my throat. “Precisely. So, what are you doing?”

“Kissing you. What does it look like?” I could hear the smile in his voice.

My head was still humming, but my quickened breath had nothing to do with the alcohol
in my system. “Aren’t you supposed to be taking me home?”

“Nope.” He stepped forward, and I instinctively stepped away from him. My back grazed
the wall. He lifted both my arms up and over my head, and secured my wrists with one large,
strong hand.

“But we had a deal,” I said, my voice sounding higher than usual.
He leaned his face down to mine and kissed me gently on the lips. “I never promised to
take you home. Just that you could sleep in your own bed. Alone, if you so choose.” His teeth
gently nipped at my lower lip.

“That’s not fair!”

He pressed his body against mine, pinning me to the wall. “No, I’ll tell you what’s not
fair,” he said, blue eyes blazing only inches from mine. “Watching that perfect little ass of yours
strut in front of me all night and not being able to grab it. At least, not then.” He reached down
and slid his other hand along the curve of my jeans.

I tried to pull my hands free. “But…I won fair and square!”

His smirk spread into a devilish smile. His hand traveled north from my hip and slid
under the hem of my shirt. “And I told you. I hate losing.”

summerlovinprizepic1Hope you enjoyed the excerpt! Don’t forget to leave a comment below to be eligible for the blog hop prizes. And to jump to the next blog on this “hop”, just click on the little blue frog below!

40 thoughts on “Summer Lovin’ Blog Hop

  1. That is one hot excerpt – phew! Perfect for summer reading, then a dip in the pool to cool off. Or a hose down if you have no pool. LOL Good luck with Armed With Steele! xo

  2. Happy release day, Kyra! I hope you’re floating around with a huge glow. Congrats on ARMED WITH STEELE. I just bought my copy from Amazon and you’re on my TBR list!

  3. um, if that’s what happens if Nate loses makes me wonder what he’s like if he wins :).

    vampiremistress2010(at)gmail(dot)com

  4. Congratulations on the release of Armed With Steele! It sounds like a great summer read. Thanks for sharing the excerpt.
    bhometchko(at)hotmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

