It’s Shirley Jump!

Welcome back to Tuesday Traditions at Indiana Wonderer. And I have to tell you, I’ve been waiting all year for this post. All year! And it’s only fitting that I have the talented and ever-inspirational NYTBSA Shirley Jump here today, one week before my debut novel’s release.

You see, Shirley was the first author to help steer me in the right direction when I began my writing journey. But not only is she a wealth of knowledge, Shirley is also one of the most selfless, intelligent women I know. It’s an honor to call her my friend, and an even greater honor to share her interview with you all today.

So without further ado, please give a warm welcome to my dear friend, Shirley Jump…

  1. Name (or pen name): Shirley JumpUntitled-3
  1. State (or country) you call home: Florida
  1. Genre(s) you write: Romance
  1. Most recent work in progress title: The Sweetheart Bargain (Berkley, September 2013)
    1. Storyline:

The Sweetheart Sisters, a trio of sassy, well-meaning grannies (who aren’t against a sip of bourbon with breakfast) are ready to dispense advice and help create happy endings with a little of what they do best—meddling.

Animal therapist Olivia Linscott is the Sweetheart Sisters’s first target. Running from a bad relationship and a lousy job, Olivia is determined to save the dog shelter she inherited from the mother she never knew, and, above all, to protect her broken heart. The Sisters want to tie the divorcee together with wounded helicopter pilot Luke Winslow, even if the intended pair keeps slipping the leash.

Luke’s dreams were shattered by a career-ending eye injury. Adrift and bitter, the last thing he wants is romantic involvement. But when a Golden Retriever, in worse shape than he is, scratches on the door, the dog brings in a whole lot more than puppy love…

  1. Of your most recent storyline, pick one character you adore. Tell us who they are and what they’ve done to be named here:

Greta Winslow, the granny at the helm of the Sweetheart Sisters, is the one I love the most. She’s like my own grandmother, a little sassy, and totally selfless in what she’ll do for those she loves. I feel so privileged to get to write a series with her, and keep visiting that character!

  1. Favorite pair of shoes:

That’s like picking a favorite child! Right now, it’s my zebra-striped flip flops, since I’m around the pool a lot these days 😉

  1. What does your typical writing day look like?:

I go for a run 5 days a week in the morning, then by the time I stretch, eat, shower, etc., it’s between 10 and 11 when I get to work. I write till lunch, take an hour break, then write again till about 3 or 4 in the afternoon. If I’m on deadline, I’ll write after dinner, too.

  1. Name one thing you learned at RWA 2013 that you hadn’t known before:

Um…that’s a hard one. I’ve been a member for twenty years now, and I’ve been to a LOT of conferences. The workshops I managed to get to this year were on being a “hybrid author,” which I am (an author who publishes traditionally and self), and building a street team, which I’m in the process of doing. So I guess I’d pick street teams—that’s the thing that I really needed to know more about.

  1. Give us one of your favorite motivational/inspirational quotes:

“A professional writer is an amateur who didn’t quit”—Richard Bachman

Thank you, Shirley, for carving out time to come and visit with us today. And I have to say, I was shocked that your favorite pair of shoes didn’t involve some type of heel… 😉 We miss you terribly back here in Indiana, but wish you a very successful September launch of The Sweetheart Bargain in your new home state.

Be sure to say hello to Shirley before you go!

If you’d like to learn more about Shirley and her vast collection of romance novels, you can find her on the web, on Facebook, and over at her blog.

12 thoughts on “It’s Shirley Jump!

  1. Great interview. I love the breezy cover of the book and it sounds like a fun story, especially with the meddling sisters. 🙂 Congrats on your awesome success, Shirley!

    • Thanks so much, Mae! It was a fun book to write! Both emotional and comedic, which I think is the best blend 🙂

  2. Hi Karen and Miss Shirley… what a nice thing to see here on the Indiana Wonderer – the famous Miss Shirley.

    Great insight as usual from Miss Shirley and nice to get a snippet of what’s coming up in her new book… should we in fact have a wing built onto our homes to house all Shirley Jump titles? On thinking that… should we be put up two wings since Armed with Steele is coming out with more titles to look forward to from Ms Jacobs in the future!!

    Have a great day ladies!

    • Aw, thanks, Gabby! Yes, indeed, everyone needs a Shirley Jump wing for books AND shoes. LOL. Just kidding! 🙂

Leave a Reply

