Meet Judith Post

It’s time once again for our Traditional Tuesday guest writer interview and I am excited to present this week’s guest, the wonderful Judith Post. Judith is a fellow Midwesterner (hmm, that’s become a theme here, lately, completely by accident) and has had an interesting writing journey.

Please join me in welcoming Judith to Indiana Wonderer!Blood Battles

  1. Name (or pen name): Judith Post
  1. Place you call home: I live in Indiana, a fellow Hoosier.
  1. Genre(s) you write: Paranormal/urban fantasy novels and novellas
  1. Most recent release title: Blood Battles, the second novel in my Fallen Angels series.  It went up for Kindle on March 28 (my daughter’s birthday).  Good Karma???  My literary agency, Dystel & Goderich,  publishes my e-books.
    1. Storyline:

Enoch was thrown to Earth to clean up his fellow angel’s messes when Caleb infected humans with his immortality, creating a race of vampires.  Enoch has sided with Caleb’s generals—good vampires—to eliminate the rogues who refuse to follow any rules, but a war is coming, a war the generals can’t win without Enoch’s Light.

  1. Of your most recent storyline, pick one character that frustrates you. Tell us who they are and what they’ve done to be named here:

Enoch’s love interest, Voronika, has been really hard for me to write.  She didn’t choose to be a vampire, and her beauty has worked against her more often than not.  She’s stopped trusting anyone and everyone.  Enoch has proved himself to her over and over again, but there’s a wall she won’t let him past.  For me, it’s been hard to show her the way I see her.  Her defense mechanisms are there because she’s been hurt, but they often come off as selfish or cold.  I still don’t think I’ve learned how to write her the way I’d like to, but I’m getting better.

  1. Favorite snack food: I love popcorn or sorbet at night.
  1. What time of day do you typically do your writing and why?:

Getting older has some perks.  I’m lucky.  I don’t have a job.  My kids are grown, so I can hit the computer almost every day.  Once it gets around four, it’s time for the kitchen and cooking—another love.  And then I hang out with my husband and whoever’s at the house.

  1. When you hit a mental roadblock, tell us something you do to clear your mind and/or find the inspiration you need to overcome that hurdle:

When I first started writing, roadblocks drove me nuts.  I forced a solution to a story problem.  If I didn’t know what would happen next, I pushed through it.  Not any more.  I trust my brain and just stop working on that story for a day or two and let my subconscious have a little time to figure it out.  And it does.  But I’ve been writing a long time.  My brain’s used to me.

  1. Give us one of your favorite motivational/inspirational quotes:

My favorite quote isn’t really about writing, but it helps me put things in perspective.

I’m a horoscope junky and read it on Jonathan Cainer’s astrology site.  From Stephen Covey:  “We are not human beings on a spiritual journey.  We are spiritual beings on a human journey.”

Thank you for visiting with us today, Judith! Best wishes on your recent release. And I have to say, I loved what you said about trusting your brain to take a little time to figure out how to get around that mental roadblock. I can completely relate – such an important lesson for us all.

“My brain’s used to me.” Love it.

If you’d like to get a taste of Judith’s writing, the first book in her Fallen Angels series is free through today (May 21st, 2013) on Amazon. Just click here. You can also learn more about Judith on her blog, her website, at Goodreads, and on Facebook.

Please leave Judith a ‘hello’ while you’re here!

12 thoughts on “Meet Judith Post

  1. I loved your quote, and how you wait out mental roadblocks. I’m always afraid they’re permanent and, like you said, push through. 😦
    Great interview, ladies!

  2. Hi, Judith. It sounds like you and your brain work very well together, LOL. Actually, I do a little of both when I hit a block…sometimes I bulldoze through and other times I step back and let the resolutions play around in my head for a day or two. Wishing you much success with Blood Battles!

  3. I love that quote, Judy…even if it is from a horoscope site. I knew someone who used horoscopes for plots sometimes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

