Highlanders, Kilts, and More!

Hello everyone! The Tuesday tradition is back this week with an exciting new author, and my fellow Lyrical Press sister, Jessi Gage. And I have to tell you, this gal is good. It isn’t often that I actually have time to read the book I’m sharing on my blog prior to the blog release date (many times, I’m learning right along with the rest of you, which makes this even more fun!), but I had a few weeks and this book sounded too good to pass up.

And trust me, it was!

Before I get to rambling about all my favorite parts, how about I let Jessi take the helms for a bit? Sit back, get comfy, and turn your attention to this week’s guest on Indiana Wonderer: Jessi Gage.

  1. Name (or pen name): Jessi Gagewishingforahighlander
  1. State (or country) you call home: Seattle
  1. Genre(s) you write: Fantasy and paranormal romance
  1. Most recent release title: Wishing for a Highlander (Lyrical Press, released January 2013)
    1. Storyline:

A single and pregnant museum worker accidentally wishes herself back in time and is forced to marry a Highland warrior with intimacy issues.

  1. Of your most recent storyline, pick one character you adore. Tell us who they are and why you love them:

Melanie is the pregnant heroine in Wishing for a Highlander. I wrote her when I, myself, was pregnant because, well, what can I say, my hormones were all over the place and I needed a friend to go through it with me, LOL! It was so much fun to give her a quirky sense of humor and a burning passion for a man who thinks he’s too big under his kilt to give her what she wants so badly. It made for some fun writing and hopefully some great romantic tension on the page.

  1. Chocolate or Vanilla (or any other flavor)?: chocolate (who chooses vanilla?)
  1. If you were on vacation today, lounging in the sun on a warm beach beneath a shady umbrella, name a book you’d like to have in your hands:

Pretty much anything by Kristen Ashley or Karen Marie Moning. Preferably both.

  1. Name two of your favorite authors:

Just did 😉 But I was peeking at my Kindle library today, just curious about which authors appear 5 or more times (who do I read a LOT of): Lara Adrian, R.G. Alexander, Kristen Ashley, Janet Evanovich, Megan Hart, Ruthie Knox, Cara McKenna, Karen Marie Moning, Brynn Paulin, & Nalini Singh. I think it’s clear I like me some hot sex and some sexy shifters and vamps.

  1. Give us one of your favorite motivational/inspirational quotes:

Um, it’s kind of lame, but Nike’s “Just do it” motto never fails to get me off the couch and get my butt in gear.

Thank you so much for having me, Kyra! I love your blog. It’s such an honor to have you host me.

Thank you, Jessi, for stopping by Indiana Wonderer today. Be sure to read the blurb below, and give Jessi a shout out on your way to test drive this tale for yourself…

While examining Andrew Carnegie’s lucky rosewood box, single-and-pregnant museum worker Melanie makes a tongue in cheek wish on the artifact–for a Highland warrior to help her forget about her cheating ex. Suddenly transported to the middle of a clan skirmish in sixteenth-century Scotland, she realizes she should have been a tad more specific.

Darcy, laird in waiting, should be the most eligible bachelor in Ackergill, but a cruel prank played on him in his teenage years has led him to believe he is too large under his kilt to ever join with a woman. He has committed himself to a life of bachelorhood, running his deceased father’s windmills and keeping up the family manor house…alone.

Darcy’s uncle, Laird Steafan welcomes the strangely dressed woman into his clan, immediately marrying her to Darcy in hopes of an heir. But when Steafan learns of her magic box and brands her a witch, Darcy must do what any good husband would–protect his wife, even if it means forsaking his clan.

WARNING: A pregnant museum worker, a sixteenth-century Scot, and a meddlesome wishing box.

You can find Wishing for a Highlander at these locations: AmazonBarnes & NobleLyrical PressAll Romance. And you can connect with Jessi here: Website | Blog | Facebook Fan Page | Twitter | Goodreads.

zz_Jessi Gage headshot2

Bio:

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. In addition to writing paranormal romance, she’s a wife, a mom, an audiologist, a church-goer, a Ford driver, a PC user, and a coffee snob. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good triumphs over evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.

15 thoughts on “Highlanders, Kilts, and More!

  1. Fun, fun, fun! As was the book. I thought it was a pure delight. 🙂 Enjoyed the interview, ladies.

    Jessi, on the risk of lowering your opinion of me, I’ve got to tell you I always take vanilla over chocolate, LOL!

  2. Hi Jessi!

    Great interview – I just picked up a copy and read the opening during my walk to the office. Can’t wait to watch sparks fly between your modern heroine and her manly old-world highlander 🙂

  3. Did I mention I have a weakness for men in kilts? Yum! Can’t wait till I can actually read your book! It’s waiting for me to read it. Once I get my project off my lap–this girl is going to Scotland…well, with the help of your imagination. 😉

  4. Darcy sounds like quite a sizable hero. 😉 Plus he chooses his wife above his clan? What a guy! Adding this to my TBR.

    And chocolate all the way!

Leave a Reply

