Peace of Mind

I did it. Took me just over four months, but today I finally pounded out the last few words in the complete first draft of my new Young Adult novel, tentatively called THE WANDERERS.

It’s the first in a triology called “Soul Divisions”, about a teenage girl and her guardian angel–who also just happens to be her soul mate. Fun stuff. I thoroughly enjoyed spending time looking at the world through the eyes of a seventeen-year-old (and prepping myself for when my kids hit that vulnerable, confusing stage of life as well).

To make the day even more special, since it’s the hubby’s birthday weekend, we opted to take advantage of a gorgeous Indiana spring day and head out to our favorite local golf course. The sun was shining, the birds happily tweeting…and as the car’s engine started, one of my all-time favorite songs began to play on the radio:

Peace of Mind, by Boston.

Those who know me well are aware of my rather eclectic taste in music. 70’s rock, 80’s pop, 90’s alt, modern inspirational—all sorts of things to whet this listener’s whistle. But Peace of Mind, well, that song has just always spoken to me.

“I understand about indecision,
But I don’t care if I get behind.
People livin’ in competition
All I want is to have my peace of mind.”

To me, this song is about a guy thumbing his nose at the 8-to-5 rat race. He’s finally decided to go his own way, do his own thing. And comfortable enough in his own skin to follow that newly-chosen path, wherever it may lead.

When that song came on this morning, it touched my heart like it has so many other times. But since I’d just finished my book—draft one, at any rate—the song seemed to be speaking to me about my writing. The lyrics gave me hope that this book could be great. This book could be big.

Then again, this book could completely bomb. There’s always that option, too. 😉 And you know what? I’m comfortable enough in my own skin to accept that. As comfortable as I was playing with a pink ball on the course today – something I swore I’d never do. But hey, it was pink to support a good cause, and who can complain about that?

2013-04-26 11.44.02

Me and my pink ball. Yep, pink.

So even if it never makes it into the hands of a capable agent, or finds itself tucked lovingly onto a shelf in Barnes and Noble, it’s still a beautiful story about a young girl trying to find who she is, and I’ll cherish it always.

Hopefully, someday you’ll have the chance to cherish it, too.

Here’s to a little peace of mind today, everybody. Cheers!

4 thoughts on “Peace of Mind

  1. Isn’t it odd what lifts your mood? For me, it’s seeing a favorite bird at one of my feeders or watching my flowers poke their heads out of my flower beds. Usually, it’s something small. It always feels good to get through the first draft of a manuscript–the long haul’s behind you. May your rewrites be a joyous occasion!

Leave a Reply

