Meet Cd Brennan

Happy Tuesday to all! Today we’re continuing our Guest Writer Series with the beautiful and talented Cd Brennan.

Cd is a Lyrical Press sister of mine, and is always quick to lend a hand to our fellow authors. I’m thrilled that she was able to swing by and share a bit about herself during her debut month for WATERSHED, the first in her new contemporary romance series “Love Where You Roam”.

Take it away, Cd!watershed

  1. Name (or pen name): Cd Brennan
  1. State (or country) you call home:

I’m half Yankee-half Aussie having citizenship for both countries, and I’m homebound for Ireland, too, as much of my heart remains tied from when I lived there from 2000-2007. Physically? Michigan is now home to my motley crew. I stress now, because with my family, ya never know where we will end up.

  1. Genre(s) you write:

Contemporary, but I’d really love to have a go at Fantasy one day, but will work up to that. For me, contemporary is my niche and my most comfortable place to write at the moment.

  1. Most recent release title: Watershed – Book #1 of Love Where You Roam (Lyrical Press, released March 4th, 3013)
    1. Storyline:

She left home to find herself…and found love along the way.
A romance of the Irish spirit set against the stunning backdrop of Queensland, Australia.

  1. Most recent work in progress title: A Stone’s Throw – Book #2 of Love Where You Roam
    1. Storyline:

She left home to find her roots…and found love along the way.
A romance of the Australian spirit set on top of the Highland munros in Scotland.

  1. Of your most recent storyline, pick one character that drives you crazy. Tell us who they are and what they’ve done to be named here:

Right now, I am writing the third book in the series, currently titled Dusting of Light, starring Scottish Sophie (secondary character from A Stone’s Throw) and my Aleut/Russian hero. He’s the one driving me crazy! I can’t even name him here because he doesn’t have one. This is the problem. And what are you without a name? He is second in line as tribal Shaman for one of the small Aleutian Islands at the very end of the archipelago. He has an Aleutian mother and Russian father. The island is actually closer to mainland Russia than to the US. But he meets Sophie in Anchorage while she is there on a teaching exchange. He is a dog-sledder and works on the oil rigs. He is an intense individual, elusive, strong and so willful that he won’t let me decide him a name. I’m going to put it up for competition in a couple weeks on my FB page. Let others decide! Then what’s he gonna do about it? 🙂

  1. Favorite cuisine: (i.e. Italian, Chinese, etc): Mexican
  1. What time of day do you typically do your writing and why?:

I have two young boys so I write around them. When my older son is at preschool, I write during the naptime of #2, and then again after they are in bed at night. Sometimes I get to squeeze in an hour between when my hubby gets home from work and dinner time. Let’s just say, it’s not the ideal way to write, popping in and out of a manuscript. What I wouldn’t do for just one day uninterruptus!

  1. If you were given a week-long vacation away from chaos of life in a cottage in the woods, name two good books you’d like to curl up and dig into while you were there?

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger – I’ve heard awesome things about this book! And I think I would attack one of the classics that I want to tick off my list – like Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy. Still romance, but meaty romance! 🙂

  1. Give us one of your favorite motivational/inspirational quotes:

A life lived in fear is a life half-lived.

Thanks so much, Cd, for carving out a little time and sharing with us today! I have to say, I can totally relate to trying to those struggles of trying to find time to write around the family. My boys keep me hopping, too, but they’re so worth it. 🙂 Wishing you all the best with your series, and a strong spring with WATERSHED.

Make sure to stop by and offer Cd a Hello! And keep an eye out on her Facebook page for that hero-naming contest–I’ve seen Kristan Higgins do that a few times now and love the idea!!

Author Pic2

If you’d like to learn more about Cd Brennan and her upcoming releases, you can find her on her website, as well as Facebook, Twitter, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

6 thoughts on “Meet Cd Brennan

  1. Thank you so much Liz! It’s a pleasure being here today. I have to be honest and say that I am very proud of my wandering ways, but now with my wee boys, it’s important to set some roots down. And I’m happy to not unpack anymore boxes for awhile. 🙂

  2. A huge thank you to my lovely hostess, fellow Lyrical sister, and fellow mum-extraordinaire for having me today on Indiana Wonderer. Love the name and website!

  3. Well, Cd, you definitely have me impatient for the next two books in the Love Where You Roam Series (I adored Watershed)! I especially love the sound of your hero in Dusting of Light. Yum! I can’t wait to meet him!

    Interesting about your desire to try fantasy too. I used to write fantasy exclusively and have recently been feeling the pull in that direction myself again. Of course, squeezing in writing time is an issue no matter what I’m working on, LOL. Sounds like I’m definitely not alone in that regard!

    Great interview, ladies!

    • Good morning Miss Mae! Lovely of you to stop by again. PM me your fantasy novels your wrote and I’ll have a peeksie. I used to read fantasy all the time when I was younger, and even now, my hubby will hand me down his that he reads. I loved the escapism of fantasy, the worlds created, the characters and even sometimes languages! I might combine both love of romance and fantasy and give a fantasy romance a go, but haven’t read much yet. Any recommendations?

Leave a Reply

