Welcome, Mae Clair!

Today I’m excited to present to you one of my Lyrical Press sisters, Mae Clair. Mae is an active supporter of our fellow writers, and has a terrific blog.  I was thrilled that she agreed to join us here today and share a bit about her recent release, WEATHERING ROCK.WR Cover for website

So, without further ado, here’s Mae!

  1. Name (or pen name): Mae Clair
  1. State (or country) you call home: Pennsylvania
  1. Genre(s) you write: Romance – – paranormal, contemporary and mystery
  1. Most recent release title: WEATHERING ROCK (Lyrical Press, released 10/08/12)
    1. Storyline:

It’s a time travel, paranormal romance. My hero, a Union colonel during America’s Civil War is thrust into the present where he meets and falls for a woman who teaches American history. Together, they work to break a werewolf curse that has spanned two centuries.

  1. Of your most recent storyline, pick one character that drives you crazy. Tell us who they are and what they’ve done to be named here:

The hero of WEATHERING ROCK, Caleb DeCardian. I had to channel a man who is two centuries behind the times, and who has a completely different set of morals and values. He’s an alpha guy used to commanding others. Dump someone like that into the present and he was both frustrating and fun to write.

  1. Favorite cuisine (i.e. Italian, Chinese, etc):

Chinese and Mexican.

  1. What time of day do you typically do your writing and why?

I work full-time, so I’m usually squeezing in writing during the evenings here and there. Sunday is my designated day to write. On Sundays, I typically spend 6-7 hours glued to my keyboard.

  1. If you won a weekend trip to a ski lodge tomorrow, would you hit the slopes or curl up in front of the fireplace with a good book (and if so, which one)?

I don’t know how to ski, so I’d probably give the slopes a look-see, poke around outside for a bit, then curl up in front of the fireplace. I read romance, mysteries, YA, thrillers, some fantasy, horror and sci-fi, so the book might fall into any of those genres. My author of choice is the writing team of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. If they had a new release out at the time, it would be at the top of my reading list.

  1. Give us one of your favorite motivational/inspirational quotes:

I have two. They’re at opposite ends of the spectrum, the first practical, the second idealistic and dreamy but they work together.

“Talent is cheaper than table salt. What separates the talented individual from the successful one is a lot of hard work.” ~ Stephen King

“Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.” ~ Les Brown

A little more about Mae:

Mae Clair opened a Pandora’s Box of characters when she was a child and never looked back.  Her father, an artist who tinkered with writing, encouraged her to create make-believe worlds by spinning tales of far-off places on summer nights beneath the stars. She snagged the tail of a comet, hitched a ride, and discovered her writer’s Muse on the journey.

Mae loves creating character-driven fiction in settings that vary from contemporary to mythical. Wherever her pen takes her, she flavors her stories with conflict, romance and elements of mystery. Married to her high school sweetheart, she lives in Pennsylvania and is passionate about writing, old photographs, a good Maine lobster tail and cats.

Mae Clair

Thanks so much for stopping by this week, Mae! Be sure to give a shout out to Mae while you’re here!

Discover more about Mae on her website and blog at www.MaeClair.com. You can also follow her on Twitter (@MaeClair1), Facebook and Goodreads.

You can find WEATHERING ROCK at the following sites:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Kobo

Lyrical Press

iBooks

26 thoughts on “Welcome, Mae Clair!

  1. Thanks, Liz. 🙂 It’s the title of an old house in the book that’s key to the story. Thanks for checking out my interview, and Kyra, many thanks for having me today!

  2. Hiya, Mae! Boy oh boy do I feel you on the struggle to work in writing time! Mine is usually between 8-10 on 3 week nights after work and putting the kiddos to bed. Great interview!

  3. *Dances in* Hi Mae. Coffee’s almost gone, but I still made it before lunch. What a fun interview. I like the questions, and your answers. Especially the quotes. Both are so right for this business. 🙂 I’d be with you in that lodge too. I’d probably break something I need if I tried to ski! lol

  4. Hi Mae … nice to read about you. I myself am not much of a ski bunny however I’d quite like making a snow angel and then run back inside for some hot chocolate and a book (one of yours maybe!!)

    Cheeries

    Gabrielle
    gabbawrites.blogspot.com.au

Leave a Reply

