Liz Flaherty and a JAR OF DREAMS

In keeping with our new Tuesday tradition, I’d like to welcome another Hoosier writer to Indiana Wonderer. If you’ve ever visited over at WordWranglers, no doubt the name Liz Flaherty will ring a bell. Liz has graciously offered to stop by today and share a bit about herself and her most recent release, JAR OF DREAMS.Cover for use

Plus, if you look closely, you may just see our first giveaway tucked into her interview…

Take it away, Liz!

  1. Name (or pen name): Liz Flaherty
  1. State (or country) you call home: Indiana
  1. Genre(s) you write: Contemporary, with a fun little segue into historical.
  1. Most recent release: JAR OF DREAMS (released 1/13/13 by Carina Press)

i.      Storyline:

Restaurateur Lucy Dolan and widowed cartoonist Boone Brennan find themselves sharing living quarters in Boone’s aunt’s Victorian house in Taft, Indiana. Boone is initially suspicious of Lucy and she thinks he’s a pain in the neck, but there’s no accounting for chemistry. As summer progresses, so does their relationship. Arson rears an ugly head and the couple learn about trust and loyalty. They also learn about loving, whether they want to or not.

  1. Of your most recent storyline, pick one character that makes you laugh. Tell us who they are and give us an example of why they tickle your funny bone:

Gert Taylor, from JAR OF DREAMS, is Lucy’s business partner and Boone’s aunt. She’s 70 or so (no one really knows, including me), wears Birkenstocks with bobby socks, and rules everyone with an iron hand and a heart of gold. I want to be her when I grow up.

  1. Favorite footwear: sneakers, pumps, or boots?

If I have to have shoes on, I’ll take sneakers or sandals, but I really prefer barefoot.

  1. If you had a quiet day to yourself at home, and the weather was a balmy 75 degrees with sun, little wind, and no insects to bother you, tell us what you would spend the day doing:

A long walk in the morning, writing, eating, drinking tea, a long walk in the afternoon, and sewing. This is how I spend many of my days anyway (I’m retired) and I do enjoy it so much.

  1. Name a book you read this past year that you enjoyed:

Can I name two? I read Pamela Morsi’s THE LOVESICK CURE and Cheryl Reavis’s THE SOLDIER’S WIFE in the same week. I couldn’t write for days simply because both these were so good I kept thinking I could never measure up.

  1. Give us one of your favorite motivational/inspirational quotes:

“What day is it?”
It’s today,” squeaked Piglet.
My favorite day,” said Pooh.” – A. A. Milne

  1. Bonus for your readers:

I’d love to give away a cup and saucer to a commenter. All you have to do is answer the following question and you’ll be entered into the drawing. My favorite thing about Indiana is the rurality of it (yeah, I’m a country girl.) What’s your favorite thing about your home state?

Thanks for having me here today, Kyra.

bio_pic

You are so very welcome, Liz. Thank you for sharing with us today! And thanks everyone for sharing favorite things about your states. **Congratulations Nan Reinhardt, winner of this week’s giveaway!**

To learn more about Liz Flaherty and her collection of novels, you can find her online at http://lizflaherty.com. She is also a common contributor over at WordWranglers.

37 thoughts on “Liz Flaherty and a JAR OF DREAMS

  1. Loved Jar of Dreams, Liz, and Gert was a wonderful character–especially the Birkenstocks with socks. I love my Birks! 😉 My favorite thing about my home state is that we have all four seasons, so it’s pretty much always lovely in one way or another. Just about the time I’m ready for a change, I get one…who could ask for more?

  2. Good Morning Liz,
    I found out a great deal about you. Not a shoe fan, definitely a Bones and Pamela Moresi fan, I am too.Don’t worry about measuring up because everyone writes differently. I know after reading Jayne Ann Krentz, I think I need dialogue, more dialogue. As for Indiana, I like that food and houses are cheap!

  3. Hi, Liz! I loved learning more about you and, Kyra your interviews are always so much fun. What a sexy fun cover on JAR OF DREAMS. It sounds like a wonderful read. Hmmm..what do I like best about Pennsylvania? Probably the change of seasons though I could definitely do with a shorter winter. BTW, I love wearing boots with long skirts, but I love sandals every bit as much! 😀

  4. Liz, I had Jar of Dreams on my Kindle the day it came out. I have already read it twice! I love Gert too because she has layers and depth, Birkenstocks and a financial genius. I hope you write a follow up to Jar of Dreams. I love living in Indiana because of the seasons and how things can change so quickly.

  5. Ah, Pooh. Such a wise old bear and one of my all-time favorites – I have the Blustery Day movie poster framed over my bed. Love the storyline of Jar of Dreams, romance and a little mystery – perfect! We recently moved to the Seattle area, and one of the things I like here is the diversity, the oceans, the mountains, the people, the activities. And how a little rain never stops anyone 😉

  6. Hello!
    It is so nice to meet more authors from Indiana! I love my state and the seasons as everyone is talking about.

    Good luck in your writing future and with sales! The book sounds great!

  7. Hi! My favorite thing about the Hoosier state is our soft, plush green KY bluegrass grass. When we lived in FL, the grass was brittle and nothing the kids could run on or sit on. It might sound like nothing but we had never appreciated it until it was gone. Interesting interview. Thanks!

  8. Great interview! I’m looking forward to reading Jar of Dreams. One of my favorite things about Indiana is the awesome, friendly people!

  9. I love the “variety” in Oklahoma.. From the NW plains, red dirt farm land, and SE mountains….weather that can be sunny 57 deg then 3 hours later snowing….and the country attitude even in the city. Just believe your story is worth sharing and keep writing. Like ice cream…there are many different flavors of writing, but they are all good.

    • You make my day, Brenda. And I love what you say about Oklahoma. It’s another place I’ve never been, but I hope to get there someday. Where’s my bucket list when I need it? 🙂

  10. Thanks for all the wonderful comments, everyone! You still have time to enter the giveaway – drawing will be this evening (2/13/13). So keep those comments coming! And thank you again to our wonderful guest, Liz Flaherty!

  11. Love the part about being bare-footed. I’ve been trying to tell my husband for years, we Hoosiers don’t like shoes. Being a city boy, NY, what does he know. Delighted to know there are lots of Indiana authors around. However, living in Alabama now at my age is great. No ice or snow.

Leave a Reply

