Welcome, Julie Sellers!

Now that the Superbowl is over, and we’ve had our share of amusing commercials (well, some of them were amusing…seriously, the Samsung commercial with Paul Rudd and Seth Rogen–two of my comedy fav’s–was about 30 seconds too long), it’s time to get back to our Writers’ Spotlight.

And this week IndianaWonderer is proud to have another Hoosier (native of Indiana, for those of you overseas) in the house: Julie Sellers!

Julie is an amazing woman with a diverse writing background. She’s also one of my critique partners, so I’m excited to be able to share her story with you all today. Without further ado, here’s Julie!

  1. Name:   Julie Sellers
  1. State you call home:   Indiana
  1. Genre(s) you write:   Women’s fiction but have also dabbled in non-fiction, YA, and recently historical fiction. I’ve only been published in non-fiction and women’s fiction, and I’ve had a few essays published as well.
  1. Most recent release title:  Coming Home (Self-published, April 23, 2011)ComingHome_trim

i.   Storyline:

When Lillian’s husband learns he’s the cause of their infertility, he’s gone before morning. Lillie does what any self-respecting woman would do, she turns to Ben and Jerry’s and refuses to leave the house. 
 
Later when Jonathan returns, Lillie hopes to find the closure she lacked from his speedy departure. But instead, he needs a favor and Lillie’s the only one who can help. She knows the best thing to do is to forget the past and put her crumbled marriage behind her…or is it?
 
Sometimes coming home, isn’t to a place on the map…but a place in your heart.
  1. Name of a work in progress title:  Stealing Home

i.   Storyline:

Major League MVP, Colin McQueen, has broken more than world records. When their college relationship ended, Brenna O’Brien swore she’d never be that vulnerable again. But now Colin’s back, with a troubled son in tow, and needs her help. Stealing home is the riskiest of plays, but in the end, it wins the game.

  1. Of your most recent storyline, pick one character that irritates the heck out of you. Tell us who they are, and they’ve done to be named here:

One of my current WIP’s is a departure for me. It is a romance, for sure, but it is mostly or completely, depending on the day, set in the 1960‘s. It’s currently untitled, but I’m billing it as “Eat, Pray, Love meets Forrest Gump and The Help.” I guess you could say, it’s unique!

But irritating…well. That would be my mother! The book is a work of fiction loosely based on real events. I think its hard to think of our own mothers as heroines in a novel. It is especially hard for me because I never had the chance to get to know her.

I have lost a lot of sleep over this book, with I’m sure, more to come. And pretty much it’s been all her fault!

  1. Favorite cuisine: (i.e. Italian, Chinese, etc):

Goodness, all of the above. I rarely find a cuisine I don’t like, except maybe Indian. It’s not my favorite.

  1. What time of day do you typically do your writing and why?

Mostly, now that I am lucky enough to have my days free, I write while my children are in school. Before that, I mainly wrote late at night. I still find when I’m stuck I curl up in bed with a pen and notebook and most often don’t stop until the alarm rings!

  1. Name a blog or two you like to visit:

When I first started writing I was devoted to Ms. Snark (site “went dark” 5/20/07), Nathan Bransford when he was an agent, Pub Rants by Kristin Nelson, the BookEnds blog by Jessica Faust (signed off 4/12/12) and occasionally Rachelle Gardner, although back then she was just starting out. Now many of these blogs are inactive and I’ve found I need to use more of the time I have writing, rather than reading about publishing.

  1. Give us one of your favorite motivational/inspirational quotes:
I think most of the real wisdom of the world comes from children’s literature. We just have to remember it when we’re adults! Some of my favorites are:
  • Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple. Dr. Seuss
  • You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.  A.A. Milne
  • “So Matilda’s strong young mind continued to grow, nurtured by the voices of all those authors who had sent their books out into the world like ships on the sea. These books gave Matilda a hopeful and comforting message: You are not alone.” Matilda, Ronald Dahl
Oh! And Thomas Jefferson.
  • “If you want something you’ve never had, you must do something you’ve never done.”
Quotes are like potato chips, I guess! You can never have just one! That’s why I start a lot of my chapters with my favorite quotes.

If you’d like to learn more about Julie and her available publications, you can find her website and blog at www.juliemsellers.com. Julie is also on Facebook and has an author page over at Amazon. COMING HOME can be found in e-format or on print at Amazon.

Thanks so much for visiting IndianaWonderer this week, Julie! Feel free to stop by and leave a “hello” for Julie below.

11 thoughts on “Welcome, Julie Sellers!

Leave a Reply

