How Can I Help?

sky1Around my workplace, I’m known for coming up with a new motto each year.

And here you thought all I wrote was blog posts and the occasional novel…

Some of them have been fun (“The year of change”), some got old very, very quickly (“It’s all good”), and I’m embarrassed to admit that last year’s was hardly inspirational (“Zero expectations”).

But after a much-needed two-week reprieve from work over the Christmas holidays last month (read: Mental break), the new motto for 2013 popped into my head. One that begged to be spoken, and tugged at my heartstrings to act on as well:

How can I help?

Four simple words. Read them again.

How can I help?

Now, these aren’t meant to be said tongue-in-cheek—I know, I know, for those of you who know how slightly sarcastic I can be on rare occasions, you’re probably imagining the tone in my voice right now. But seriously, for whatever reason, these four words are directing me to venture a bit out of my comfort zone and do rather than just say. To volunteer my help in advance, rather than waiting for the request to be spoken.

And sure enough, within this first month of the year, I’ve faced several situations where this new motto has helped guide me through difficult times. Don’t get me wrong–I’m not trying to cast a gloomy shadow over 2013! Rather, I’m saying that this motto is already working to guide me, lead me, and inspire me.

So in sticking with this motto, I’ve decided to try something fun and different here on IndianaWonderer. To deviate from the norm. Yes, I’ll still be posting my quirky and/or inspiring messages from time to time. But it’s not just about me—that’s not who I am. I’d rather shift the focus of this blog to include others around me, others in my new, exciting field of writing, who are out there pouring their blood, sweat, tears, and brilliant imaginations into their novels.

Soon, you’ll start to see blog posts sporting interviews with other authors/writers, giving you a glimpse into not just what they write, but who they are. Because behind the cover of every book lies not just a story on print/on screen, but also a story about the amazing person who took the time to share their thoughts and ideas with readers like you and me. I’m hopeful you’ll also discover some fantastic novels to add to your collection along the way.

And for those of you who aren’t into girly romances, never fear—I’ve got a few authors who deviate from that genre already lined up.

Hoping each of you has a terrific 2013, and that you enjoy the coming changes to IndianaWonderer.

And if you’re feeling bold this year, why not ask yourself,

How can I help?…

6 thoughts on “How Can I Help?

  1. “What can you do” is a little like “Paying it forward” eh? It makes a positive impact on the soul IMHO. Loved your post, and your blog. Looking forward to more.

    Have great day … writing and otherwise

    Gab

    • Paying it forward? Love that. And you’re right, it’s definitely along the same lines. Why climb the ladder if I can’t bring my friends along with me to share in the adventure?

      Thanks so much for stopping by – and can’t wait to have you on in 2013!

Leave a Reply

