I’m Thankful for…Pickles?

In honor of my American friends and acquaintances, I want to extend a Happy Thanksgiving to you all.

This is a holiday that can easily be overshadowed by the lure of aromatic smells wafting from your kitchens, the rush to get both family and food loaded into the car so they can head “over the river and through the woods, to Grandmother’s house”, or the mountain of Black Friday ads that came with the prior day’s newspaper.

And there’s nothing wrong with any of that, so long as we all take the time to stop and do what the holiday was intended for: give thanks. Thanks for who we are, where we live, and the freedom that comes with it.

As I was tucking the kids into bed last night, I asked them for what they were thankful. Our youngest, who’s five, folded his hands together and said, “I want to go first.”

I chuckled at his enthusiasm, and encouraged him to proceed.

“I’m thankful for God, and Jesus, and … and the whole Universe.”

His older brother instantly turned and quipped, “So, you’re thankful for pickles?”

Now, you’ve got to understand—pickles, in our family, is a humorously sore subject. My husband is the only one in our household that even likes them. The rest of us? Not so much.

So when his brother insinuated that our youngest actually liked pickles, his face scrunched up in extreme displeasure. “Noooo! Not pickles! I said the Universe, not on our planet.”

Okay, so we have some astronomy lessons ahead of us.

But the point of the story is that it’s easy to throw an all-inclusive statement about what we are thankful for on Thanksgiving, without giving it serious thought.

So I encourage all of us today, this week, even yet this year, to take a moment to reflect on all that we have to be thankful, no matter where in the world you live. For some, this exercise may be easy. For others, they may have to dig deeper. For all, it can help us to garner a better perspective on who we are, and where we are in our lives.

And maybe, just maybe, we should take the time to stop and give thanks for all that we’ve been blessed with more than one day a year.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

And no offense to the pickle farmers, but your crop didn’t make my list of things I’m thankful for this year…again.

 

2 thoughts on “I’m Thankful for…Pickles?

Leave a Reply

