And Now You’re In My Way

No, this is not the new fan site for Carly Rae Jepsen. But her song “Call Me, Maybe” has been stuck in my head all day. Just when I thought I was finally free, our local radio stations blitzed us on the way home from school. And who can change the channel when you’ve got two kids in the back seat belting out a pop song happy as clams?

Not this Mom.

Now, there’s a line in the song, at least as I hear it, that goes, “And now you’re in my way.” And somewhere in my musings this week, that line had me thinking about friendship. Now, for those of you who don’t know me, I was one of the oldest kids in my class. Missed the kindergarten cut-off by one day.

One. Stinking. Day. I could have graduated a whole year earlier! But I digress…

Being the oldest meant I tended to lead groups I was in, not follow. Not a big deal to play leader in grade school. But then you graduate from high school, and you finish college, and all of a sudden you’re facing a whole new world where you have zero experience leading anyone, let alone yourself.

So I did what most twenty-somethings do: I floundered as best I could. In fact, I floundered so well I continued that trend right on into my thirties.

But a few years back, I stumbled upon an amazing group of women at church who were looking to form a small group (bible study). For once, I was the youngest—a role I was a tad bit uncomfortable with starting out. But the more we got to know one another, the easier it got. Soon we were inseparable. We even came up with a snappy name for ourselves: the “BTA” – Bible Thumpers Anonymous.

Aside from the wonderful journey in Christ that we’ve shared together, what I value even more is the love, support, and generosity these women share. They laugh instead of judge. They hug instead of harp. And they share both their successes and failures in life instead of preach about we should and shouldn’t be doing.

And so, beautiful BTA ladies, this blog is dedicated to you. We may not see each other as often as we would like, but you were definitely put in my path for a reason. Without you, I would no doubt continue to flounder through the rest of my 30’s. And probably beyond.

Thank heavens you got “in my way”.

Who’s come along your life’s “path” and helped you find your way?

2 thoughts on “And Now You’re In My Way

Leave a Reply

